Description
The church of Santa Maria de Equo is located outside the town of Ruscio. It is a Romanesque building which stands over the remains of a pre-existing early Middle Age structure.
The façade, fronted by a later portico canopy in very poor conditions and in front of which traces of a narthex can be noted on the ground, reveals Romanesque forms in the curtain wall with regular rows of quoins and in the double archivolt portal and lunette. The presbytery, without apse, is probably what remains of the pre-existing early Middle Age building, which has grafted itself onto the axis of the Romanesque construction creating an unusually long nave.
Inside, behind the 18th century altar (with canvases of 1770), at a lower height than the nave, is a rectangular area covered by a barrel vault with remains of 15th century frescoes, to be considered as the fifteenth century transformation of the Romanesque crypt. Remains of 16th century frescoes are visible on the walls. Today, taken as a whole, the volume of the building has changed as a result of the considerable burial and lowering of the perimeter walls.